Iโ€™m having a blast getting back into analog photography. For many years, I had my own darkroom: a Besseler enlarger, a clunky old timer, trays, tongs, and a safe light โ€” all set up in a spare bathroom with black plastic covering up the windows. (It was a little creepy, tbh. ๐Ÿ˜…) But I sold all of my equipment when we moved to Los Angeles. Our little Santa Monica loft just didnโ€™t have the room.

But now that weโ€™re settled into our new home on the coast of NC, Iโ€™m excited to start putting together my new darkroom! This time Iโ€™m keeping it small, and I found what I hope will be the perfect enlarger for me โ€” the Intrepid Compact Enlarger. It combines a small LED light source (that you can mount to a tripod or copy stand) with a digital controller/timer. I just got it delivered and am looking forward to getting it all set up so that I can start making prints again.

More to come!

Cardboard box labeled The Intrepid Camera - Compact EnlargerIntrepid Compact Enlarger light source, controller, and quickstart guide